Henrik Frode Obel Foundation awards travel grants to students of architecture in order to promote architectural excellence and a global perspective.

The foundation also awards grants and scholarships for teaching, professorships, exhibitions, etc.


One of the recipients in 2019 of the Obel Foundation travel grants was Rune Wriedt from the Aarhus School of Architecture who travelled to the Southwestern United States and Mexico. His itinerary was based on the records of Jørn Utzon’s travels in 1949, and the trip contributed to the foundation for Rune Wriedt’s ongoing thesis project, which revolves around subjects such as the architecture of the border.


The three recipients in 2018 were Haris Hasanbegovicz, Jonathan Rützou Jakobsen, and Johan Neve Klejs.

The students travelled to countries all over Europe and Africa, including Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria, West Africa, Croatia, and Athens.