Each year, the jury of the OBEL AWARD will present a particular focus and will invite a select group of professionals worldwide to submit suggestions that comply with both the overriding aim of the award as well as the annual focus. Each submitted project is then researched by the secretariat and thoroughly scrutinized by the jury whereupon an elimination process takes place.

The particular focus for 2019 is: Well-being.

The jury will be looking for ground-breaking, original, powerful, and influential recent solutions spearheading future architectural developments. The proposed works of architecture should therefore be seminal, of eminent importance to its time, and offer new ideas in terms of context, environment, and/or concept.



What are the criteria for the award?

The award is given to physical works or projects inaugurated within the past five years. The award can be given to an architect or group of architects, and the award-winning projects can range from manifesto to master plan and include buildings, landscape projects, and exhibitions.

The OBEL AWARD can be won by any eligible candidate regardless of nationality, ethnicity, gender, race, religion, ideology, or age.

How can I apply?

We do not accept applications for the OBEL AWARD. Identifying a winning project takes place in a closed process.

What does the prize entail?

The winning project receives a prize sum of €100,000. The winner also becomes a member of the award winner network and will be invited to all OBEL AWARD ceremonies and events.

The award winner is expected to give a masterclass or lecture which is open to the public.

When is the award presented?

The next award ceremony takes place on 22 October 2019.